NE Truck Driving Championships

Join Us for the 2018 Nebraska Trucking Driving Championships
June 8th – 9th at Fonner Park Grand Island


On behalf of the members of the Nebraska Trucking Association’s Safety Management Council and the Nebraska Truck Driving Championships Steering Committee, I want to let you know registration is now open for the 2018 Nebraska Truck Driving Championships.

Registration Information

Registration is now open for the Nebraska Truck Driving Championships. You can register by downloading the registration packetThe registration deadline is May 1, 2018.

Please submit your registrations electronically. Once NTA receives all necessary forms and fees you will receive two championships shoulder patches and a 2017 Facts for Drivers book for each driver. Questions for the written exam will be taken from this book and current events from NTA’s e-newsletter, Good to Know.

Sponsorship Information

Your support at any level would be greatly appreciated. Benefits of becoming a sponsor of the Truck Driving Championships will include your names printed in the official championships program, on event signage and in the post-championships issue of Nebraska Trucker magazine. In addition, sponsors will be recognized via public announcements during the driving competition on Saturday, June 9.


  • GOLD – $100
  • PLATINUM – $250
  • DIAMOND – $500

If you have any questions about the sponsorship opportunities or would prefer to donate other items, please contact Sheila O’Connor. We appreciate your support in making the 2018 Nebraska Truck Driving Championships a success.

Please submit your Sponsorship Form electronically, you can email forms to

What is the Nebraska Truck Driving Championships??

A statewide competition for professional heavy truck drivers who maintain accident-free driving records

The championships have four phases:

  1. A written test covering safety regulations and trucking industry facts
  2. A vehicle inspection in which drivers must identify defects
  3. An interview with a law enforcement officer
  4. A driving skills test in one of nine classes: step van, straight truck, three-axle truck, four-axle truck, five-axle truck, five-axle sleeper truck, tanker, flatbed or twin-trailer.

Winners in each class advance to the National Truck Driving Championships.

Nebraska Trucking member trucking companies sponsor their drivers and owner/operators to attend the two-day contest. Staff from member companies serve as volunteer officials for the competition.

Thank You to All Who Made the 2017 Event a Success!

Congrats to all our winners!

Another Nebraska Truck Driving Championships is in the record books! Our thanks to everyone who participated, volunteered, sponsored, provided vehicles, goods or services and attended – it was a great event! Your committee, under the leadership of chairman, Dave Dailey with Lyman-Richey, outdid themselves this year! More than 100 drivers entered for the competition and over 350 enjoyed the Satruday evening banquet at Fonner Park. New events included attendance by American’s Road Team, a ‘truck and pups,’ division and a dance following the banquet.

Our thanks to the Nebraska Concrete and Aggregates Association for providing lunch on Saturday and Lyman-Richey for providing the meat for the brats – a total of 600 hand made by their team! Our charity was Make-A-Wish Nebraska; due to the overwhelming generosity of our members and attendees, we are still tallying the amount raised. Be sure to check out the gallery below!

NTDC June 6, 2017 Press Release
Nebraska Truck Driving Champions Announced

his annual event offers Nebraska’s best professional truck drivers a chance to demonstrate knowledge, talent and skills in a competition highlighting what it takes to be a safe driver on today’s streets and highways. 102 drivers participated in this year’s championships in eleven classes. Additional awards were presented based upon scores in the four separate test areas: written examination, personal interview, pre-trip inspection and driving test. Team awards are also given to the company with three or more drivers competing with the highest overall score.

The 2017 overall grand champion is Ed Beins, ABF Freight System, Inc., Lincoln

Click here to Read the Full Press Release

2017 NTDC Winners – Congratulations!

Straight Class:

Ed BeinsABF Freight System Inc. – Lincoln
Shawn HarmsFedEx Freight, Inc. – Lincoln
Christina GainesFedEx Express-Lincoln – Lincoln

Three-axle class:

Sam WilsonXPO Logistics – Aurora
Larry DerrWerner Enterprises – Omaha
Joe BuschABF Freight System Inc. – Omaha

Four-axle class:

Terry DurhamWerner Enterprises – Omaha
John PoppenFedEx Freight, Inc. – Grand Island
Jeff TomlinsonFremont Contract Carriers, Inc. – Fremont

Five-axle class:

Tom HopkinsWalmart Transportation, LLC – North Platte
Toby KortFedEx Freight, Inc. – Aurora
Kent WoodFremont Contract Carriers, Inc. – Fremont

Five-axle sleeper class:

Darin HardwickCrete Carrier Corporation – Kansas City, MO
Eric BaumanGrand Island Express, Inc. – Grand Island
Paul SmithABF Freight System Inc. – Omaha

Tank truck class:

Ian FranckHunt Transportation, Inc. – Omaha
Jay BurmeisterFedEx Freight, Inc. – Grand Island
Phillip DeLauderWerner Enterprises – Omaha

Flatbed class:

John FogoRed & White Market & Transfer, Inc. – Hastings
Joey MartelABF Freight System Inc. – Omaha
Daryl JohnsonYRC Freight  – Omaha

Twin-trailer class:

Brent TurekFedEx Freight, Inc. – Aurora
Rick LarchGrand Island Express, Inc. – Grand Island
Lonnie StarkeXPO Logistics – Aurora

Step van class:

Adam StroupFedEx Express-Omaha – Omaha
Travis MinnickFedEx Express-Lincoln – Lincoln
Chris CherryFedEx Express-Lincoln – Lincoln

Mixer truck class:

Kenny DillonLyman-Richey Corporation – Omaha
Dan ZeibigBeatrice Concrete Company, Inc. – Crete
Tom InzuaroLyman-Richey Corporation – Omaha

Truck and Pup:

Bob DuffLyman-Richey Corporation – Omaha
Jennifer KastensLyman-Richey Corporation – Omaha
Mitchell HelmuthPaulsen Inc. – Lexington

Team winners:

XPO Logistics – Aurora
Walmart Transportation, LLC – North Platte
Fremont Contract Carriers, Inc. – Fremont 


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get trucking’s weekly headline news in the Good to Know Newsletter. Want the Good To Know Newsletter sent directly to your email? Just fill out the form and start receiving weekly updates form the Nebraska Trucking Association!

You have Successfully Subscribed!